Being an Artist is not a job, but a Life.

Previously I wrote about what the perception of a “real” job is. My Post was centered on one of the answers I received from a friend. (Thank you, Everett.) His response was that the only “real” job in life is to Live. As an Artist I believe this wholeheartedly.

If, as an Artist, I’m not conveying Life and feeling through my work, if I’m not evoking an emotion, realized or not, I have not done my “job”. The emotion I feel while working on, or viewing, my subject should come through in my finished piece.

Tessa - charcoal and graphite on hot pressed paper.

Tessa waiting to play. Graphite and charcoal on hot pressed paper.

As an Artist I feel I can only attain this by Living. By following this I can assume that being an Artist is the only “real” job, if the only “real” job is to Live.

But wait! Being an Artist is not a job. It’s a life. As an Artist, everything I do has a tie to my art.

  • The way I view shape and form.
  • The way I see and interpret lighting.
  • The thoughts I have when viewing my subject.
  • The awe I have in seeing nature in its full beauty!
Sunset in my backyard - acrylic on canvas

Sunset in my backyard. Acrylic on canvas.

 

Being an Artist is to see the pain in someone’s eyes and to empathize with them. It’s to see the plight and misunderstanding of an animal and convey the truth in pigment or pencil. It is capturing the beauty of a moment so it lasts for an eternity. Being an Artist is to soak in every emotion and all the beauty around you and pass it on so as to make it eternal.

I am an Artist. This is my life.

Pretty cool, huh?

Adrian Selnekovic was born in New Egypt, New Jersey in 1973. He is a self taught artist who strives to live a simple, purposeful life. He lists his early art influences as pop culture and comic books with more recent influences being the current homesteading movement across the country. He holds the belief that Art and Life is one and the same.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Life as an Artist

What are your thoughts?